Spanish Minor

Spanish Minor

Arts_Spanish Major_Minor-Argentina

Above: Cataratas del Iguazu, Argentina

To view more photos from the Hispanic world, click here.


Contact Person:  Spanish Coordinator, Cecilia Sessarego

Spanish is the official language in 21 countries around the world, spoken by 500 million people as their native language and by 40 million people in the United States. A major in Spanish will develop your communication skills and deepen your understanding of Hispanic cultures. You will learn to function effectively in a variety of social and global contexts, and gain language and cross-cultural skills by analyzing fiction, film and mass media texts from Spain, Latin America and Hispanic culture in the United States.

View the courses required to complete the Spanish Minor.

Students' Online Journals (Papers and Projects)

El texto hispanoamericano-The Spanish American text (online journal for undergraduate research)
http://mrujs.mtroyal.ca/index.php/eth

Teaching Opportunities
Cultural Ambassadors: North American Language and Culture Assistants in Spain (Application deadline every year: March)
International study

You will be strongly encouraged to study abroad. Exchange programs with universities in Mexico, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Peru and Spain give you opportunities to experience a different culture, practice your language and communication skills and develop new friendships.

Learn more about international study opportunities.

For program planning, course selection and academic advising, visit Academic Advising Services.
 


Faculty & Contacts

 Full-Time Contract
  

 María-Jesús Plaza, PhD
Spanish Coordinator
Phone: 403.440.5965
Email: mplaza@mtroyal.ca

Gabriela True, MEd
Faculty member
Phone: 403.440.8939
Email: gtrue@mtroyal.ca
  
Cecilia Sessarego, PhD
Faculty member
Phone: 403.440.6547
Email: csessarego@mtroyal.ca
Patricia Zehner, MA
Faculty member
Phone: 403.440.5975
Email: pzehner@mtroyal.ca
  
Enrique López, PhD
Faculty member
Phone: 403.440.6531
Email: elopez@mtroyal.ca
 
  
María Teresa Grillo Arbulú, PhD
Faculty member
Phone: 403.440.5941
Email: mgrilloarbulu@mtroyal.ca
 
  
Dr. David Hyttenrauch
Chair, Department of English, Languages, and Cultures
Phone: 403.440.6453
Email: dhyttenrauch@mtroyal.ca
 
  
Kitty Pryde
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 403.440.5912
Email: kpryde@mtroyal.ca
Megan Kimler
Administrative Assistant
Phone: 403.440.6528
Email: mkimler@mtroyal.ca