Research & Scholarship Governance

Research & Scholarship Governance

MRU Strategic Research and Scholarship Plan 2018-2023

Mount Royal University fosters excellence in undergraduate education enriched by research and scholarship for knowledge generation, application and positive change. We are guided by an institutionally-approved document titled Discovery & Change-making through Research and Scholarship.

A central premise of the plan is an exceptional undergraduate experience that includes thoughtful integration of research and scholarship into the tenure of all Mount Royal students. Learning and participating in research alongside faculty members enhances the experience of undergraduate learners through:

  • developing critical, analytic and creative skills,
  • improving the understanding and retention of course material,
  • understanding knowledge creation processes and the innovation cycle,
  • applying new knowledge to novel situations,
  • engaging in creating positive change through community engagement, and
  • increasing confidence, independence and capacity for complex problem-solving.

 The SRSP is organized around advancing progress on five goals and associated strategies:

Goal 1: Our Students. Provide Mount Royal students with undergraduate research opportunities.

Goal 2: Our Researchers and Scholars. Enhance support for research and scholarship.

Goal 3: Our Research Infrastructure. Enhance the space, facilities and access for research and scholarship infrastructure.

Goal 4: Telling our Stories - Celebrating our Successes. Increase dissemination and communication of research and scholarship.

Goal 5: Working Together. Increase opportunities for collaboration.


Committees 

Terms of Reference
  1. Review annually the Institution's Strategic Research Plan and provide advice on its contents, objectives, and orientation.
  2. Consider and review, as required, existing research related policies and propose new ones, if necessary, and provide advice on their content, interpretation, and implementation.
  3. Provide a forum where new research, scholarly initiatives and ideas can be discussed and reviewed in an inter-disciplinary context.
  4. Provide, through its members, an internal communication mechanism built on the existing institutional structure to broadly communicate information concerning research, funding opportunities, institutional research initiatives, and the like.
  5. Establish, as required, sub-committees to address emerging issues as they relate to research, creative, and scholarly activities and develop proposals for addressing them.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
David Docherty MRU President, GFC Chair 403.440.6393 ddocherty@mtroyal.ca
Lesley Brown Vice-Chair, GFC, Provost and Vice-President, Academic 403.440.6858 lbrown1@mtroyal.ca
Michael Uzoka GFC Member at Large 403.440.6674 fuzoka@mtroyal.ca
Emily Hutchison Faculty of Arts 403.440.8458 ehutchison@mtroyal.ca
Leah Hamilton Faculty of Business and Communication Studies 403.440.8548 lhamilton@mtroyal.ca
Gladys Sterenberg Faculty of Health, Community and Education 403.440.8729 gsterenberg@mtroyal.ca
Trevor Day Faculty of Science and Technology 403.440.5961 tday@mtroyal.ca
Erika Smith ADC and GNED 403.440.6568 eesmith@mtroyal.ca
Sara Sharun University Library 403.440.6135 ssharun@mtroyal.ca
Kathy Offet-Gartner Student Affairs and Campus Life 403.440.6362 koffetgartner@mtroyal.ca
Jennifer Pettit Deans' Council Representative 403.440.5985 jpettit@mtroyal.ca
Cordelia Snowdon Student Representative 403.440.6402 vpacademic@samru.ca
Ray Hansen Student Representative 403.440.6077 reception@samru.ca
Cynthia Gallop Chair, Human Research Ethics Board 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Michael Quinn (Chair) AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Doralyn Newly Finance Designate (non-voting) 403.440.5620 dnewly@mtroyal.ca
Meagan Bowler University Librarian 403.440.6086 mbrowler@mtroyal.ca
Ray De Paul Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship 403.440.8497 rdepaul@mtroyal.ca
James Stauch Institute for Community Prosperity 403.440.7055 jstauch@mtroyal.ca
Michelle YeoInstitute of Scholarship of Teaching and Learning403.440.6494myeo@mtroyal.ca
Connie Van Der BylInstitute of Environmental Sustainability403.440.5030cvanderbyl@mtroyal.ca
Danah DukeMiistakis Institute403.440.8444dduke@mtroyal.ca
Sonya JakubecCentre for Child Well-Being403.440.6447sjakubec@mtroyal.ca
Tim HaneyCentre for Community Disaster Research403.440.8659thaney@mtroyal.ca
Lena Soots Trico Changemakers Studio 403.440.5568 lsoots@mtroyal.ca
Marlena Cross Marketing and Communications 403.440.6411 mcross1@mtroyal.ca
Tim Haney, Sarah Hewitt, Cari Merkley and Ada Jaarsma Research Development Officers (ORSCE RDOs) 403.440.6069 research@mtroyal.ca
Kathy Homer Recording Secretary 403.440.6731 khomer@mtroyal.ca

The Scholarship Review Committee (SRC) reviews all institution-wide internal grant applications, makes decisions on ranking, and provides recommendations on funding to the AVP Research. The SRC also acts as a team of topic-specialist reviewers that may be called upon by the Grants Facilitator, the Human Research Ethics Board, or individual faculty (through the Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement), to review specific portions of applications. Committee members may also be called upon to review specific types of external calls where the institution is the manager of the funds, such as through AACTI or SSHRC Institutional Grants.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn (Chair) AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Julia Johnson Recorder, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.6069 jljohnson@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
Cathy Carter-Snell Health, Community and Education 403.440.6679 ccartersnell@mtroyal.ca
Trevor Day Science and Technology 403.440.5961 tday@mtroyal.ca
Jim FischerBissett School of Business403.440.6835jfischer@mtroyal.ca
Tracy Friedel Arts 403.440.7056 tfriedel@mtroyal.ca
Sarah HewittScience and Technology403.440.8755sahewitt@mtroyal.ca
Dorothy Hill Science and Technology 403.440.7796 dphill@mtroyal.ca
Emily Hutchison  Arts 403..440.8458 ehutchison@mtroyal.ca
Brian JacksonRiddell Library and Learning Centre403.440.5032bjackson@mtroyal.ca
Shannon KellHealth, Community and Education403.440.6493skell@mtroyal.ca
Bev MathisonHealth, Community and Education403.440.8655blmathison@mtroyal.ca
Kenna OlsenArts403.440.5953kolsen@mtroyal.ca
Monica Pauls Health, Community and Education 403.440.8481 mpauls@mtroyal.ca
Irene ShankarArts403.440.8661ishankar@mtroyal.ca
Erika Smith Teaching and Learning 403.440.6568 eesmith@mtroyal.ca
Pamini Thangarajah Science and Technology 403.440.6477 pthangarajah@mtroyal.ca
The Human Research Ethics Board (HREB) is responsible for ensuring that research applications meet the Tri-Council Policy Statement (TCPS2) involving participants, their rights and well-being. Learn more about HREB.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Cynthia Gallop (Chair) Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Malinda Desjarlais (HREB Vice-Chair and Chair for SHREC and Psychology Student Research Ethics Committee) Psychology 403.440.8441 mddesjarlais@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
David Cann Psychology 403.440.8541 dcann@mtroyal.ca
Karim Dharamsi Alternate Ethicist, GenEd 403.440.8658 kdharamsi@mtroyal.ca
Lee Easton English, Languages, and Cultures 403.440.5906 leaston@mtroyal.ca
Scott Hughes Education 403.440.6342 shughes@mtroyal.ca
Brian Jackson Library 403.440.5032 bjackson@mtroyal.ca
Susan Jacoby (On sabbatical) School of Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.8430 sjacoby@mtroyal.ca
Ran Ju      
Susan Jacoby (in sabbatical) SoNM 403.440.8430 sjacoby@mtroyal.ca
Amanda LeBlanc SAMRU Representative   vpexternal@mtroyal.ca
Roberta Lexier GenEd 403.440.8487 rlexier@mtroyal.ca
Karen Manarin English, Languages, and Cultures 403.440.7719 kmanarin@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen General Education 403.440.8645 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Jill Parnell Health and Physical Education 403.440.8672 jparnell@mtroyal.ca
Harris Rubin Gen. Mgmt., HR, and Aviation 403.440.6658 hrubin@mtroyal.ca
Stephanie Stone Office of Campus Equity and Meaningful Engagement 403.440.8675 sstone@mtroyal.ca
Rachel Syme Community Member, CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research, University of Calgary 403.210.7204 rmsyme@ucalgary.ca
Donovan Tymchyshyn Community Member, Vecova Centre for Disability Services and Research 403.284.1121 dtymchyshyn@vecova.ca
David Turner Community Member - AHS   turnerconsulting@shaw.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca
Ad Hoc Advisors
Name Department Phone Email
Stacey Page, Chair, CHREB University of Calgary Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board (CHREB) 403.220.2763 sapage@ucalgary.ca
Michael Barr, Chief Information Officer Information Technology Advisor 403.440.7260 mbarr@mtroyal.ca
John Fisher, Director, Iniskim Centre Aboriginal Issues Advisor 403.440.5668 jfisher@mtroyal.ca
The Student Human Research Ethics Committee (SHREC) is a subcommittee of HREB that reviews course-based work that comprises of the use of human participants in minimal risk studies. Principal Investigators (course instructions) play the role of overseeing all projects within their courses and are responsible for all projects' ethical consideration if the course involves multiple sections.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Malinda Desjarlais (Chair) Psychology 403.440.8441 mddesjaralis@mtroyal.ca
Harpreet Aulakh Economics, Justice, and Policy Studies 403.440.5907 haulakh@mtroyal.ca
 Abdul Chikhouni Bissett School of Business 403.440.6707 achikhouni@mtroyal.ca
Marty Clark Health and Physical Education 403.440.6511 mclark2@mtroyal.ca
Judy Gleeson Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.5529 jgleeson@mtroyal.ca
Brian Guthrie Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.7087 bguthrie@mtroyal.ca
Shannon Kell Health and Physical Education 403.440.6493 skell@mtroyal.ca
Bailey McCafferty Psychology (Student) 403.440.6412 bmcca469@mtroyal.ca
Monica Pauls Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.8481 mpauls@mtroyal.ca
Rachael Pettigrew Bissett School of Business 403.440.6846 rpettigrew@mtroyal.ca
Fredrick Ulmer Sociology and Anthropology 403.440.6450 fulmer@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca
The Animal Care Committee (ACC) supports animal-based research in accordance with the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC) guidelines and policies. This committee ensures all research activities are humane and well-founded to meet the level of standards that should be provided to all participants. Learn more about the ACC.
Members
Name Department Term Phone & Office Email
Jonathan Mee (Chair) Biology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.5150

Office: B344E

jmee@mtroyal.ca
Michael Quinn AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ex officio

Phone: 403.440.7017

Office: U269A

mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ex officio

Phone: 403.440.5081

Office: U265E

mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Karen Atkinson-Leadbeater Psychology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8442

Office: EA3066

 katkinsonleadbeater@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Cruz Biology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.5540

Office: B342A

mcruz@mtroyal.ca
Ron Leininger

Community Member, Consulting Veterinarian

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.226.5522 rwleininger@gmail.com
Michelle Priest Community Member, Besurance Corporation

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

  miche.priest@gmail.com
Milena Radzikowska Information Design

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8941

Office: T275

mradzikowska@mtroyal.ca
Melanie Rathburn General Education

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8636

Office: B344I

 mrathburn@mtroyal.ca
Cordelia Snowdon Student Representative Vice-President, Academic, SAMRU

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.6402 vpacademic@samru.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ongoing

Phone: 403.440.8470

Office: U269B

pwamucii@mtroyal.ca
Raymond Yu Laboratory Safety Specialist

2017/18 (1 year)

Term end: June 2021

  ryu@mtroyal.ca
Spencer Wishart Community Member

2017/21 (4 years)

Term end: June 2021

  s.p.wishart@gmail.com

For more information about research and scholarship governance, please contact Associate Vice-President, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, Michael Quinn, at 403.440.7017 or mquinn@mtroyal.ca.