Alumni Achievement Awards

Mount Royal University Alumni Achievement Awards

There are more than 100,000 Mount Royal University alumni making a difference around the world. In this sea of genuinely exceptional folks, what makes our recipients stand out above the rest?

It’s their dedication to their craft. It’s how they help others achieve success. It’s how they give back to their communities. And it’s how they continue to contribute to their alma mater, long after graduation.

Nominate for 2019 beginning on November 20  >
Meet the 2018 award recipients  >

2018 Alumni Achievement Award RecipientsAn academic, an interior designer, a professional coach and a social entrepreneur might have more in common than you think. Meet this year’s recipients. We are honoured to celebrate them.

Walter Hossli
Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Social Services Diploma, 1985

Walter Hossli is one of Canada’s most accomplished social entrepreneurs.

Jenn Lofgren
Outstanding Alumni Award
Business Administration -- Human Resources Diploma, 2006

Jenn Lofgren is the driving force behind Incito Leadership and Executive Coaching, a company that inspires smart, creative and bold leaders.

Sarah Ward
Outstanding Alumni Award
Bachelor of Applied Interior Design, 2004

Sarah Ward is the brains and creative spirit behind Sarah Ward Interiors, a design company specializing in creating iconic work, living and public gathering spaces.

Geoff Schoenberg
Horizon Award
Bachelor of Applied Business and Entrepreneurship -- Sport and Recreation, 2007

Geoff Schoenberg is working with the Australia India Institute at the University of Melbourne to shape and identify a research agenda that addresses the needs of the Indian sport system.
Read more  > 

About the Alumni Achievement Awards

Every year, Mount Royal University celebrates alumni that inspire us. Whether they are beginning their career or have a lifetime of achievements, Mount Royal is honoured to recognize them in four different categories:

Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Recognizes current students that exemplify the qualities of an outstanding alumna or alumnus, before they have even graduated.

Horizon Award
Recognizes outstanding achievements of alumni early in their careers.

Outstanding Alumni Awards
Recognizes alumni who demonstrate outstanding achievement in their fields, either through community involvement, professional excellence or academic achievement.

Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Recognizes an alumnus or alumna who has brought great honour to the university and fellow alumni though excellence in professional, community and/or personal endeavors throughout their lifetime. 

Nominate for 2019 beginning on November 20  >
Meet the 2018 nominees  >

Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Rick Smith, Business Administration - University Transfer '69
Outstanding Alumni Award – Professional Achievement
Jonathan Hak, Criminal Justice Careers - Police '80
Outstanding Alumni Award – Professional Achievement
Mercedes Brown, Natural Sciences '93 and Calgary Conjoint Nursing Program '97
Horizon Award
Pieter Boekhoff, Bachelor of Applied Computer Information Systems and Business '07
Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Kristin Milloy, Bachelor of Science - Health Sciences and Cellular and Molecular Biology
Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Dexter Nelson, Physical Education - University Transfer '68
Outstanding Alumni Award – Professional Achievement
Liz Hannah, Journalism Diploma '80

Outstanding Alumni Award – Professional Achievement
Mark Seland, Public Relations Diploma '90

Horizon Award
Ashley Black, Aviation Diploma '10

Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Tristan Smyth, Bachelor of Arts

Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Colleen Abdoulah, Public Relations Diploma, ‘79
Outstanding Alumni Award — Community Service
Roland (Rollie) LaHaye, Correctional Careers Diploma, ‘70
Outstanding Alumni Award - Professional Achievement
Timothy (Tim) Morris, Broadcasting Diploma, ‘97
Horizon Award
Amanda (Whelan) Hamilton, Bachelor of Applied Interior Design, ‘05
Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Julia Pasieka, Bachelor of Arts
Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Hon. Raymond Lee – Engineering '58
Outstanding Alumni Award – Arts and Culture
Michele Decottignies – Theatre Arts '92
Outstanding Alumni Award – Athletic Achievement
Tom Otjes – Therapeutic Recreation '76
Horizon Award
Nicola Kozmyk – Sport and Recreation '06
Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Collin Semenoff
Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Robert Laidlaw, Petroleum Engineering '50
Outstanding Alumni Award - Arts and Culture
Daniel Okulitch, The Conservatory '95
Outstanding Alumni Award - Professional Achievement
Lorne Motley, Journalism '86
Horizon Award
Laura Ell, Ecotourism and Outdoor Leadership '03
Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Elizabeth Mack
Lifetime Distinguished Achievement Award
Sid Marty, Arts and Science '65
Outstanding Alumni Award - Arts and Culture
Dr. Michael Kim, Mount Royal Conservatory Academy of Music '88
Outstanding Alumni Award - Professional Achievement
Wayne Wiebe, Environmental Quality Control '74
Horizon Award
Ryan Correy, Bachelor of Applied Ecotourism and Outdoor Leadership '07
Outstanding Future Alumni Award
Erin Delamont


Tom Fredericks (Business Administration '78)
Dave Pierce (The Conservatory, in the '80s)

Bob Nicolay (Business Administration '78)
Bruce McCulloch (Business Administration '79)

Major Cory Blakely (Aviation '91)
Captain Chuck Mallett (Aviation '95)
Jean Merriman (Broadcasting '74)

The Honourable Norman L. Kwong, CM, AOE (Commercial '49)
Chris Gailus (Broadcasting '89)

Jim Courchesne (Business Administration '61)
Tim Morgan (Aviation '74)

Jackie Hudson (Environmental Technology Diploma '74)
John Jackson (Environmental Technology Diploma '77)

Francis Damberger (University Transfer - Drama '77)
Heather Schmidt (The Conservatory '92)
Don Wilson (Associate Diploma in Business Administration '68)
Paul Brandt (Nursing '92)
Herbert Allard (University Transfer '46)

Doris Hilda Anderson (University Transfer '43)
Harry Irving (MRC High School '47)

Roderick Mah (MRC High School '52)

Hyman Belzger (MRC High School '56)
Gerry Borbridge (Criminal Justice '73)

Gen. John de Chastelain (ret'd) (MRC High School '56)
Gerald Knowlton (MRC High School '50)
Andrew Dawes (The Conservatory '55)
Kenneth Perkins (The Conservatory, late '40s early '50s)
Barry A. Styles (Business Administration '64)
Edward M. Lakusta (University Transfer '53)
Sandra L. LeBlanc (MRC High School '58, Business Administration)
Donald R. Ingram (Business Administration '68)
Jacqueline Dunckel (Valedictorian, Class of '51, B.A.)
David E. Mitchell (B.A. Science and Technology '48)
Jack Leslie (MRC High School '38)
Bruno Todesco (MRC High School '48)
Alvin Law (Broadcasting '80)