Board of Governors

Honorary Degrees

The Post-secondary Learning Act in Alberta enables Mount Royal University to award honorary degrees.

Like much university protocol, honorary degrees date back to the Middle Ages and are often accompanied by the Latin words "honoris causa" - meaning for honourific reasons.

Recent recipients include:

Louise Halfe - Canada's Parliamentary Poet Laureate

Hal Kvisle - Leader in Oil, Gas and Utilities

Elder Miiksika'am - Mount Royal's Indigenous Spiritual Leader

Christine Silverberg - Former Chief Constable of Calgary Police Services

Other Honorary Degree Recipients

Honorary degrees are awarded in recognition of an individual's outstanding achievement in the academic, private or public sector. Successful candidates are chosen based on their longstanding affinity with Mount Royal University, and exemplary leadership in Calgary, Alberta and across the country.

Mount Royal University welcomes nominations of worthy candidates for honorary degrees and nominations are accepted year-around. Canadians and non-Canadians may be considered.

Honorary degrees are not awarded posthumously, to an individual currently holding elected office in a municipal, provincial or federal government in Canada, or to current members of the Mount Royal community.

For information on nominations and deadlines, please see the Honorary Appointments Committee.