GFC Committees

Teaching and Learning Committee (TLSC)

Terms of Reference
The Committee shall:

  • provide strategic advice on teaching and learning practices that promote and sustain excellence and are aligned with the strategic direction of the University;
  • recommend teaching and learning criteria that reflect national and international best practices, as well as respond to and help define provincial quality assurance requirements;
  • provide advice and recommendations on the development, implementation and assessment of learning outcomes, as appropriate;
  • recommend innovation and experimentation with evolving learning and teaching modes, strategies, and technologies.
  • recommend to the GFC practices, policies and procedures that will inform and/or enhance teaching and learning activities at MRU, including the following:
    • recommendations for improving and/or assessing the quality of teaching in light of Mount Royal, provincial, national and international contexts;
    • distinguishing between teaching effectiveness, teaching excellence, scholarly teaching, and scholarship of teaching and learning;
    • the work of evaluation of teaching and learning from reports within the institution, including non-standard student/participant evaluations of instruction; and
    • approaches to recognition and awards for teaching.
Tuesday, September 17, 20194:00 - 6:00 p.m.University Board RoomTBD
Tuesday, October 15, 20194:00 - 6:00 p.m.University Board RoomTBD
Tuesday, November 26, 20194:00 - 6:00 p.m.University Board RoomTBD
Tuesday, January 28, 20204:00 - 6:00 p.m.University Board RoomTBD
Tuesday, March 17, 20204:00 - 6:00 p.m.University Board RoomTBD
Tuesday, April 14, 20204:00 - 6:00 p.m.University Board RoomTBD
Michael Quinn
Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Academic
Ex Officio
Shelley Rathie
Faculty of Business and Communication Studies
GFC Member at Large
Nancy Ogden
Faculty of Arts
Faculty Councillor
Christian Cook
Faculty of Business and Communication Studies
Faculty Councillor
Gaye Warthe
Faculty of Health, Community and Education
Faculty Councillor
Israel Dunmade
Faculty of Science and Technology
Faculty Councillor
Geoff Owens
University Library
Faculty Member
Luciano Da Rosa Dos Santos
Faculty Member
Brad Mahon
Faculty of Continuing Education and Extension
Pat Pardo
Student Affairs and Campus Life
Anna DinhStudent Representative
Laura Balanko-DicksonStudent Representative
Miriam CareyInterim Director, ADC
Asad Israeli
Information Technology Services
Sheena Jensen
Governance Assistant, GFC
Recording Secretary
For further information, contact:

Sheena Jensen


Back to committees