President’s Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Advisory Committee

The President’s Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Advisory Committee was set up in fall 2020, with 15 members made up of students, faculty and staff from across campus to bring a breadth of lived experiences and expertise.

As a committee made up of Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC) individuals, allies and those with knowledge and experience in anti-racism education and equity, diversity (EDI) and inclusion our mandate is:

  • to affirm MRU’s commitment to equity, diversity and inclusion
  • to disrupt racism
  • to advocate for systemic change (at MRU and in our community)

The committee will provide ongoing recommendations to the president and vice-chancellor within the University’s evolving EDI framework of activities, policies and procedures so that tactical goals and actions can be developed, enacted, communicated and monitored.

In the past few months the committee has met to discuss committee membership, terms of reference and the current EDI environment and framework at MRU. There is an appropriate demand for immediate change on campus and although quick change can be a challenge, we are identifying potential short-term and long-term actions.

Current committee discussions include:

  • providing unconscious bias training for those involved with recruitment and selection at MRU
  • recognizing that existing EDI policies, procedures and resources need to be reviewed and updated
  • agreeing that there needs to be better communication to the MRU community about existing EDI policies, procedures and resources
  • wanting to increase promotion of EDI initiatives happening across campus to amplify BIPOC voices and experience among the MRU community
  • identifying the need for a clear and safe process for students and employees to report and get assistance if they experience or witness discrimination
  • being aware that there is a pressing need for financial assistance and mental health resources for BIPOC students

By encouraging a compassionate and empathetic dialogue, the committee hopes to learn from the lived experiences of everyone in the MRU community. If you have an EDI initiative you would like to share with the committee or have questions, please email

The 2021-22 committee members are:

  • Spirit River Striped Wolf
  • Joseph Nguyễn
  • Yasmin Ahmed
  • Dr. Michael Uzoka
  • Dr. Israel Dunmade
  • Dr. Jennifer Pettit
  • John Fischer
  • Janalee Morris
  • Karen Richards
  • Shannon Pestun
  • Chris Rogerson