University Honours Committee


The University Honours Committee considers nominations for recipients of the title "emeritus/emerita" and for recipients of honorary degrees.

Membership 2022-2023

Name Title Role  Term
Tim Rahilly President and Vice-Chancellor Chair Ex officio
Dawn Farrell Chancellor Member Ex officio
Chad London Provost and Vice-President, Academic Member Ex officio
Paul Rossmann Vice-President, University Advancement Member Ex officio
Stephen Price Dean, Faculty of Health, Community and Education Member (appointed by the Provost) June 30, 2024
Jennifer Pettit Dean, Faculty of Arts  Member (appointed by the Provost) June 30, 2024
Doug King Academic Staff Member, Faculty of Arts Member (elected by GFC) June 30, 2024
Meg Wilcox Academic Staff Member, Faculty of Business and Communication Studies Member (elected by GFC) June 30, 2024
Kathy Homer Assistant University Secretary, Board Recording Secretary

Honorary Degrees

Honorary degrees are awarded in recognition of an individual's outstanding achievement in the academic, private or public sector. Successful candidates are chosen based on their longstanding affinity with Mount Royal University, and exemplary leadership in Calgary, Alberta and across the country.

Honorary Degree Recipients

Guidelines for the Awarding of Honorary Degrees at Mount Royal University

Nomination form for an Honorary Degree Candidate Academic Emeritus/Emerita Designation The emeritus/emerita designation is an award that recognizes the outstanding, distinguished contributions of a retired individual to the academic life of Mount Royal University. As an award that recognizes distinguished service, it is not bestowed automatically. It is bestowed by the Board of Governors on the recommendation of General Faculties Council and the Mount Royal University Honours Committee. Once granted, the title is held continually at the pleasure of the Board of Governors of Mount Royal University.


Academic Emeriti Recipients

Academic Emeritus/Emerita Designation Policy

Academic Emeritus/Emerita Designation Procedures

Nomination Form for an Academic Emeritus/Emerita Candidate



  • December 15 for Spring Convocation

For further information, contact:

University Secretariat

Back to committees