

# Research and Scholarship Committee (RSC) Annual Plan for General Faculties Council 2021-2022

DATE: November 16, 2021

SUBMITTED BY: Michael Quinn, Chair of RSC

### PRIORITIZED SUMMARY OF PROJECTED ACTIVITIES AND OUTCOMES

- Undergraduate Research and Scholarship: work on the Undergraduate Research recognition will continue, including exploring necessary resource options. Potential for inclusion in e-portfolio project.
- Research Policies: the following policy reviews will need to be finalised: the Integrity in Research and Scholarship; and Institutes. This group will review necessary policies, as indicated.
- Research and Scholarship Days: this event will need to be organised and delivered at the end of the Winter 2022 semester.
- Research and Scholarship Recognition Awards: these awards will need to be organised for Winter 2022 (call for nominations, adjudications, and celebration). The process for nomination should also be considered.
- International Research: the draft International Research document will require review by individual Faculties, and a communication and a strategy needs to be developed (for instance, should the resource be hosted with ORSCE).
- Continue to strategize on promoting and supporting Indigenous research. Coordination with AVP Indigenization & Decolonization and the new GFC Committee.
- Initiate the process to develop a new Strategic Research and Scholarship Plan.
- Support the development of a comprehensive system to collect 'good news stories' for research and scholarship.

## **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

Michael Quinn, CHAIR, Vice-Provost and AVP, Academic
Kenna Olsen, VICE-CHAIR, GFC Academic Staff Member
Francine May, Designate for Dean, University Library
Melissa Deane, Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement
Lynne Lafave, Chair, Human Research Ethics Board
Michael Roberts, Associate Dean responsible for research
James Stauch, Institute/Centre Director

Ranjan Datta, Academic Staff Member (Arts)

Uthpala Tennakoon, Academic Staff Member, (Business and Communication Studies)

David Legg, Academic Staff Member (Health, Community and Education)

Trevor Day, Academic Staff Member (Science and Technology)

Carolyn Willekes, Academic Staff Member (Teaching & Learning)

Madelaine Vanderwerff, Academic Staff Member (University Library)

Angela Galeos, Student Representative

Nabeel Muhammad, Student Representative

# Resources

Liza Choi, Associate Dean responsible for research

David Bird, Associate Dean responsible for research

Ray DePaul, Institute/Centre Director

Danah Duke, Institute/Centre Director

Lena Soots, Institute/Centre Director

Connie Van der Byl, Institute/Centre Director

Michelle Yeo, Institute/Centre Director

Marta Mankiewicz, Finance designate

Julia Thiessen, Marketing and Communications designate

Sheena Jensen, RECORDING SECRETARY, Assistant University Secretary, GFC

### **SCHEDULED MEETINGS**

- September 14, 2021
- October 12, 2021
- November 16, 2021
- January 18, 2022
- February 15, 2022
- March 15, 2022
- April 12, 2022
- May 10, 2022

For additional information and meeting minutes, visit the <u>RSC</u> webpage.