

# Student Affairs Committee (SAC) Annual Report for General Faculties Council 2021-2022

DATE: May 3, 2022 SUBMITTED BY: Phil Warsaba, Chair of SAC

## SUMMARY OF ACTIVITIES AND OUTCOMES

From September 20, 2021 to May 9, 2022, the Committee convened 7 times and approved the creation of 34 new scholarships, bursaries and awards. The Committee also approved revisions to 110 annual and endowed awards over the same time period. Detailed information on the type, value and number of awards, along with eligibility criteria and application information, has been included in the Student Affairs Committee meeting minutes submitted to GFC.

# Selection Committees

In a continuation of the practice established in the former Student Awards Committee, the Student Affairs Committee appointed representatives to serve on various Selection Committees for nominated awards. As a result of the various Selection Committees' deliberations, 6 students were selected for the Laurence Decore Awards for Student Leadership, 6 students were selected for the Dr. Gary McPherson Leadership Scholarship, and 25 recipients and 19 alternates were selected for the President's Scholarship. The Centennial Gold Medal Selection Committee reviewed 17 nominations and selected 4 recipients (one per credit Faculty).

## Matters Considered

- Review of the Student Financial Support policy and the Student Affairs Committee charter
- Approval of updates to the Appeal of a Scholarship, Bursary or Awards Decision procedure
- Review of application barriers faced by Indigenous students
- Revisions to the Awards application to include options for students to self-identify with racialized groups and other equity-deserving categories linked to award eligibility criteria
- Review and revision of the Code of Student Conduct Policy and Procedures, with a recommendation for comprehensive policy changes delivered to GFC
- Consideration and approval of a student appeal of an Awards decision

## MATTERS FOR FUTURE CONSIDERATION

- Approve terms of reference and criteria for all awards administered by the University, as appropriate.
- Appoint representatives to serve on Student Awards Selection Committees.
- Review and recommend revisions to the Sexual Violence Response policy
- Consider changes to the Mount Royal University Entrance Award Scholarship

#### **COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP**

#### <u>CHAIR</u>

Phil Warsaba, Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President, Students (or designate)

#### VICE-CHAIR

Yasmin Ahmed, Student Representative

## <u>MEMBERS</u>

Chris Rogerson Executive Director, Student Affairs

Michelle LoGullo, President, MRSA

Meagan Bowler, Deans' Council Representative

Brian Nichols, Academic Staff Member - Arts

Denise Chenger, Academic Staff Member - Business and Communication Studies

Marty Clark, Academic Staff Member - Health, Community and Education

Melanie Rathburn, Academic Staff Member - Science and Technology

Cynthia Gallop, Academic Staff Member - Teaching & Learning

Sara Sharun, Academic Staff Member - University Library

Steve Kootenay-Jobin, Iniskim Centre Representative

Patricia Pardo, Student Affairs Representative (September - October, 2021)

Bob Lambert, Student Affairs Representative (January - May 2022)

Spirit River Striped Wolfe, Student Representative

Joseph Nguyen, Student Representative

## **RESOURCES**

Geri Lynn Gouglas, Registrarial Designate

Rebecca Bowman, Designate for Executive Director, Development (September, 2021-February, 2022) Miranda Daikiw, Designate for Executive Director, Development (March-May, 2022)

## RECORDING SECRETARY

Angela Spinner, Appointed by the Chair

## SCHEDULED MEETINGS

- September 20, 2021
- October 26, 2021
- November 25, 2021
- January 24, 2022
- February 28, 2022
- March 21, 2022
- April 11, 2022
- May 9, 2022

For additional information and meeting minutes, visit the <u>SAC</u> webpage.