University Secretariat

University Secretariat

The University Secretariat, led by the University Secretary, is the administrative office responsible for coordinating and facilitating the activities of the Board of Governors and General Faculties Council, and their various committees, to ensure the effective and efficient operation of Mount Royal University's bicameral system of governance.

The University Secretariat manages and supports the bicameral governance system in accordance with legal requirements and obligations, the Post-secondary Learning Act, the bylaws of the Board and General Faculties Council, and accepted best governance practices. 

While maintaining a neutral role within the governance system, the University Secretariat actively supports effective oversight, decision making and accountability.  This is accomplished through providing support and guidance to the governing bodies, their standing committees and to the Executive Team on all governance, policy and operational issues that might affect the institution.

The University Secretariat serves as the repository for information on all matters relating to these governing bodies, and their respective committees. Additionally, the University Secretariat provides leadership and expertise in protection of privacy compliance, access to information [legislation], data governance and policy management.

University Secretariat Team

General Counsel and University Secretary
Amy Nixon
alnixon@mtroyal.ca

Executive Assistant
Améline Guillot
aguillot@mtroyal.ca

Assistant University Secretary, Board
Kathy Homer
khomer@mtroyal.ca

Contact for the Board of Governors

Assistant University Secretary, GFC
Sheena Jensen
sjensen@mtroyal.ca

Contact for General Faculties Council

Information Management & Privacy (FOIP) Advisor
Jeremy Duffin
jgduffin@mtroyal.ca

Contact for FOIP

Information Management Coordinator
Mary Cheung
mcheung@mtroyal.ca

 

Policy Specialist
Tim Harlick
tharlick@mtroyal.ca

Contact for Policies and Procedures