Research & Scholarship Governance

Research & Scholarship Governance

MRU Strategic Research Plan

Recognizing the critical role of research in meeting our mandate, Mount Royal University developed a five-year Strategic Research Plan in 2012. This inaugural planning document identified four key themes for scholarly activity:

  • Undergraduate Involvement in Research. The establishment of an undergraduate research culture at Mount Royal and the involvement of students in research activities wherever possible.
  • Community-Engaged Scholarship. To establish Mount Royal as one of the principal institutions in Canada engaging in mutually beneficial research partnerships with its external community.
  • The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (SoTL). Mount Royal looks to become recognized across Canada and beyond for SoTL in terms of research and dissemination, application of scholarly results to teaching practices and faculty development.
  • Collaborative Research. To take advantage of Mount Royal’s longstanding highly collaborative culture and build new opportunities in and for interdisciplinary research across the University and beyond.

Research, scholarship and community engagement activity has grown significantly at MRU over the past five years and we are in the process of writing a new strategic research plan to guide us into the future. The new plan is being developed in consultation with our community and will align with the directions of the Institutional Strategic Plan and the forthcoming Academic Plan. 


Committees

Committee Charter 

Terms of Reference:
  • Review annually the Institution’s Strategic Research Plan and provide advice on its contents, objectives, and orientation
  • Consider and review, as required, existing research related policies and propose new one, if necessary, and provide advice on their content, interpretation, and implementation
  • Provide a forum where new research, scholarly initiatives and ideas can be discussed and reviewed in an inter-disciplinary context
  • Provide, through its members, an internal communication mechanism built on the existing institutional structure to broadly communicate information concerning research, funding opportunities, institutional research initiatives, and the like
  • Establish, as required, sub-committees to address emerging issues as they relate to research, creative, and scholarly activities and develop proposals for addressing them.

 Membership:

Name Department Phone Email
Dwayne Sheehan Chair, Faculty Councillor 403.440.5148  dpsheehan@mtroyal.ca
George Calic Student Representative    
 Anupam Das  Faculty of Arts 403.440.6535  adas@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Ray De Paul Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship 403.440.8497 rdepaul@mtroyal.ca
Danah Duke Miistakis Institute 403.440.8444 dduke@mtroyal.ca
 David Finch Faculty of Business and Communications 403.440.8784  dfinch@mtroyal.ca
Cynthia Gallop Chair, Human Research Ethics Board 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Tim Haney Centre for Community Disaster Research 403.440.8659 thaney@mtroyal.ca
Michael Huston Wellness Services 403.440.6263  mhuston@mtroyal.ca
Sonya Jakubec Faculty of Health, Community and Education 403.440.5075  sjakubec@mtroyal.ca
Jeff Keshen Dean's Council Representative 403.440.6960  jkeshen@mtroyal.ca
Brett McCollum Institute for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning 403.440.8765 bmccollum@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen Faculty of ADC and GNED 403.440.6367 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Michael Quinn AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Jenni Scott Faculty of Science and Technology 403.440.8670  jescott@mtroyal.ca
Carol Shepstone University Library 403.440.6134  cshepstone@mtroyal.ca
Cathy Smey Carston Centre for Child Well-being 403.440.6447 ccarston@mtroyal.ca
Cordelia Snowdon Student Representative    
James Stauch Institute for Community Prosperity 403.440.7055  jstauch@mtroyal.ca
Alice Swabey University Library 403.440.7241 aswabey@mtroyal.ca
Connie Van Der Byl Institute for Environmental Sustainability 403.440.5030  cvanderbyl@mtroyal.ca
Karen Webster Finance Designate 403.440.8900  kwebster@mtroyal.ca
Kathy Homer Recording Secretary 403.440.6731 khomer@mtroyal.ca

Committee Charter

The Scholarship Review Committee (SRC) reviews all institution-wide internal grant applications, makes decisions on ranking, and provides recommendations on funding to the AVP Research. The SRC also acts as a team of topic-specialist reviewers that may be called upon by the Grants Facilitator, the Human Research Ethics Board, or individual faculty (through Research Services), to review specific portions of applications. Committee members may also be called upon to review specific types of external calls where the institution is the manager of the funds, such as through AACTI or SSHRC Institutional Grants.

Membership:

Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn (Chair) AVP, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Manager, Office of Research, Scholarship and
Community Engagement
403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Julia Johnson Recorder, Office of Research, Scholarship and
Community Engagement
403.440.6069 jljohnson@mtroyal.ca
TBA Arts 403.440.XXXX XXXXXX@mtroyal.ca
Carol Armstrong Science and Technology 403.440.8568 carmstrong@mtroyal.ca
Katherine Boggs Science and Technology 403.440.6645 kboggs@mtroyal.ca
Kendra Hart Bissett School of Business 403.440.8435 khart@mtroyal.ca
Emily Hutchison Arts  403.440.8458 ehutchison@mtroyal.ca
Ada Jaarsma Arts 403.440.8545 ajaarsma@mtroyal.ca
Enrique Lopez Teaching and Learning 403.440.6531 elopez@mtroyal.ca
Bev Mathison Health, Community and Education 403.440.8655 blmathison@mtroyal.ca
Kirk Niergarth Arts 403.440.6760 kniergarth@mtroyal.ca
Joseph Osuji Health and Community Education 403.440.6559 josuji@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen GenEd 403.440.8645 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Cliff Spyker Bissett School of Business 403.440.6689 cspyker@mtroyal.ca
Gil Wilkes Communications Studies 403.440.8523 gwilkes@mtroyal.ca

Committee Charter Coming Soon 

Membership:

Name Department Phone Email
Cynthia Gallop (HREB Chair) Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.6985  cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Cathy Carter-Snell
(SHREC Chair)
Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.6679  ccartersnell@mtroyal.ca
Malinda Desjarlais (Psychology Student Committee Chair) Psychology 403.440.8441 mddesjarlais@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
Steve Burton Community Member, Tsuut'ina Nation Police Service 403.251.9660 steve.burton@tsuutinapolice.com
Dexter Bruneau SAMRU Student Representative 403.440.6402 vpexternal@samru.ca
David Cann Psychology 403.440.8541 dcann@mtroyal.ca
Allison Dube General Education 403.440.8658 adube@mtroyal.ca
Leah Hamilton Bissett School of Business 403.440.6342 lhamilton@mtroyal.ca
Scott Hughes Education 403.440.5967 shughes@mtroyal.ca
Lynne Lafave Health and Physical Education 403.440.5967 lafave@mtroyal.ca
Enrique Lopez English, Languages, and Cultures 403.440.6531 elopez@mtroyal.ca
Sinclair MacRae Humanities 403.440.6543 smacrae@mtroyal.ca
Stephanie Stone Diversity and Human Rights 403.440.8675 sstone@mtroyal.ca
Rachel Syme Community Member, CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research, University of Calgary 403.210.7204 rmsyme@ucalgary.ca
Tanya Trussler Economics, Justice, and Policy Studies 403.440.5526 ttrussler@mtroyal.ca
Cheryl Techentin Psychology 403.440.8535 ctechentin@mtroyal.ca
Donovan Tymchyshyn Community Member, Vecova Centre for Disability Services and Research 403.284.1121 dtymchyshyn@vecova.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470

hreb@mtroyal.ca

Ad Hoc Advisors: 

Name Department Phone Email
Stacey Page University of Calgary Ethics Board 403.220.2763 sapage@ucalgary.ca
Michael Barr Information Technology 403.440.7260 mbarr@mtroyal.ca
John Fisher Iniskim Centre, Aboriginal Issues Advisor 403.440.5668 ajfischer@mtroyal.ca

 

Committee Charter Coming Soon 

Membership:

Name Department Phone Email
Cathy Carter-Snell
(Chair)
Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.6679 ccartersnell@mtroyal.ca
Harpreet Aulakh Economics, Justice, and Policy Studies 403.440.5907 haulakh@mtroyal.ca
Judy Gleeson Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.5529 jgleeson@mtroyal.ca
Brian Guthrie Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.7087 bguthrie@mtroyal.ca
Shannon Kell Health and Physical Education 403.440.6493 skell@mtroyal.ca
Monica Pauls Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.8461 mpauls@mtroyal.ca
Rachel Pettigrew Bissett School of Business 403.440.1306 rpettigrew@mtroyal.ca
Tanya Trussler Economics, Justice, and Policy Studies 403.440.5526 ttrussler@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca

 

Name Email Contact Information Term

Quinn, Michael

Interim Chair

mquinn@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal - Associate Vice-President
Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement (ORSCE)
Telephone: 403.440.7017
Office: U269A
 Ongoing
Deane, Melissa mdeane1@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal - Manager, ORSCE
Telephone: 403.440.5081
Office: U265E
Ex officio
Atkinson-Leadbeater, Karen katkinsonleadbeater@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal, Department of Psychology
Telephone: 403.440.8442
Office: EA3066
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Cruz, Melissa mcruz@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal, Department of Biology
Telephone: 403.440.5540
Office: B342A
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Leininger, Ron rwleininger@gmail.com Community Member
Consulting Veterinarian
Harvest Hills Veterinary Clinic
Telephone: 403.226.5522
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
May, Bernie bernie@practicalmanagers.com Community Member
Telephone: 403.617.1677
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Mee, Jonathan jmee@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal, Department of Biology
Telephone: 403.440.5150
Office: B344E
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Priest, Michelle miche.priest@gmail.com Community Member
Besurance Corporation
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Nelson, Robbie vpacademic@samru.ca Student Representative from SAMRU
Vice-President, Academic, SAMRU
Telephone: 403.440.6402
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Radzikowska, Milena mradzikowska@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal, Department of Information Design
Phone: 403.440.8941
Office: T275
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Rathburn, Melanie mrathburn@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal, Department of General Education
Telephone: 403.440.8636
Office: B344I
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
Wamucii, Priscilla pwamucii@mtroyal.ca Mount Royal, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement
Telephone: 403.440.8470
Office: U269B
2016/20 – 4 years
Term end: June 2020
We are here to help For more information about research and scholarship governance, please contact Associate Vice-president - Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, Michael Quinn, at 403.440.7017 or mquinn@mtroyal.ca