Research & Scholarship Governance

Research & Scholarship Governance

MRU Strategic Research and Scholarship Plan 2018-2023

Mount Royal University fosters excellence in undergraduate education enriched by research and scholarship for knowledge generation, application and positive change. We are guided by an institutionally-approved document titled Discovery & Change-making through Research and Scholarship.

A central premise of the plan is an exceptional undergraduate experience that includes thoughtful integration of research and scholarship into the tenure of all Mount Royal students. Learning and participating in research alongside faculty members enhances the experience of undergraduate learners through:

  • developing critical, analytic and creative skills,
  • improving the understanding and retention of course material,
  • understanding knowledge creation processes and the innovation cycle,
  • applying new knowledge to novel situations,
  • engaging in creating positive change through community engagement, and
  • increasing confidence, independence and capacity for complex problem-solving.

The SRSP is organized around advancing progress on five goals and associated strategies:

Goal 1: Our Students. Provide Mount Royal students with undergraduate research opportunities.

Goal 2: Our Researchers and Scholars. Enhance support for research and scholarship.

Goal 3: Our Research Infrastructure. Enhance the space, facilities and access for research and scholarship infrastructure.

Goal 4: Telling our Stories - Celebrating our Successes. Increase dissemination and communication of research and scholarship.

Goal 5: Working Together. Increase opportunities for collaboration.


The Committee provides advice and recommendations with respect to policies, programs and other initiatives related to research, creative and other scholarly activities at Mount Royal University.
The Scholarship Review Committee (SRC) reviews all institution-wide internal grant applications, makes decisions on ranking, and provides recommendations on funding to the Director, Research. The SRC also acts as a team of topic-specialist reviewers that may be called upon by the Grants Facilitator, the Human Research Ethics Board, or individual faculty (through the Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement), to review specific portions of applications. Committee members may also be called upon to review specific types of external calls where the institution is the manager of the funds, such as through NSERC USRA or SSHRC Institutional Grants.
Name Department Email
Connie Van der Byl (Chair) (Interim) Associate Vice-President, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement
Melissa Deane (Vice-Chair) Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement
Steven Engler Arts
Rebecca Gilmour Arts
Ranjan Datta Arts
Anupam Das Arts
Harpreet Aulakh Arts
Osama El-Temtamy Business and Communication Studies
Hadi Fariborzi Business and Communication Studies
Harris Rubin Business and Communication Studies
Matthew McLarnon Business and Communication Studies
Genevieve Currie Health, Community and Education
Jared Fletcher  Health, Community and Education
Lynn Headley Health. Community and Education
Marva Ferguson Health, Community and Education
Sara Sharun Riddell Library and Learning Centre
Jeella Acedo Science and Technology
Yasaman Amannejad Science and Technology
Michelle DeWolfe Science and Technology
David Bird Science and Technology
Cherie Woolmer Academic Development Centre
Karen Pheasant Neganigwane

General Education

The Human Research Ethics Board (HREB) is responsible for ensuring that research applications meet the Tri-Council Policy Statement (TCPS2) involving participants, their rights and well-being. Learn more about HREB.
Name Department Phone Email
Lynne Lafave (HREB Chair) Health and Physcial Education  403.440.5967
Monica Pauls (HREB Vice Chair and SHREC Chair) Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.8481
Hapreet Aulakh Economics, Justice and Policy Studies 403.440.5907
Malinda Desjarlais Psychology 403.440.8441
AnneMarie Dorland Marketing 403.440.6960
Aliyah Dosani Nursing and Midwifery 403.903.8631
Mohamed El-Hussein Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.8633
Cass Foursha-Stevenson Psychology 403.440.8829
Jared Fletcher Health and Physical Education 403.440.5514
Naomi Grant Psychology 403.440.8837
Sarah Hamilton Education 403.440.5691
Brian Jackson Library (Data Mgmt. Specialist) 403.440.5032
Ran Ju Public Relations 403.440.8689
Gabrielle Lindstrom Humanities 403.440.6536
Jessie Loyer Library 403.440.8699
Karen Manarin  English, Languages, and Cultures  403.440.7719
Matthew McLarnon General Management and Human Resources 403.440.6991
David Ohreen General Education 403.440.8645
Harris Rubin Geneneral Management and Human Resources 403.440.6658
Ines Sametband Psychology 403.440.5962
Rachel Syme Community Member, CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research, University of Calgary 403.944.2476
Nick Strzalkowski Biology 403.440.5117
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470
Ad Hoc Advisors
Name Department Phone Email
Stacey Page, Chair, CHREB University of Calgary Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board (CHREB) 403.220.2763
The Student Human Research Ethics Committee (SHREC) is a subcommittee of HREB that reviews course-based work that comprises of the use of human participants in minimal risk studies. Principal Investigators (course instructions) play the role of overseeing all projects within their courses and are responsible for all projects' ethical consideration if the course involves multiple sections.
Name Department Phone Email
Monica Pauls (SHREC Chair) Child Studies and Social Work 403.440.8481
Abdul Chikhouni Bissett School of Business 403.440.6707
Marty Clark Health and Physical Education 403.440.6511
Rachael Pettigrew Bissett School of Business 403.440.6846
Fredrick Ulmer Sociology and Anthropology 403.440.6450
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Office 403.440.8470
The Animal Care Committee (ACC) supports animal-based research in accordance with the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC) guidelines and policies. This committee ensures all research activities are humane and well-founded to meet the level of standards that should be provided to all participants. Learn more about the ACC.
Name Department Phone & Office Email
Jonathan Mee (Chair) Biology

Phone: 403.440.5150
Melissa Deane Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement

Phone: 403.440.5081
Karen Atkinson-Leadbeater Psychology

Phone: 403.440.8442
Aria Burrel SAMRU
Melissa Cruz Biology

Phone: 403.440.5540
Stuart Elle Risk Management Services

Phone: 403.440.7793
Carrie Fischer

Community Member, Consulting Veterinarian

Samir Lalani

Community Member

Heather Nelson General Education

Phone: 403.440.8716


Brenna Ortynsky Community Member
Priscilla Wamucii Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement

Phone: 403.440.8470

For more information about research and scholarship governance, please contact Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, Melissa Deane, at 403.440.5081 or