Research & Scholarship Governance

Research & Scholarship Governance

MRU Strategic Research and Scholarship Plan 2018-2023

Mount Royal University fosters excellence in undergraduate education enriched by research and scholarship for knowledge generation, application and positive change. We are guided by an institutionally-approved document titled Discovery & Change-making through Research and Scholarship.

A central premise of the plan is an exceptional undergraduate experience that includes thoughtful integration of research and scholarship into the tenure of all Mount Royal students. Learning and participating in research alongside faculty members enhances the experience of undergraduate learners through:

  • developing critical, analytic and creative skills,
  • improving the understanding and retention of course material,
  • understanding knowledge creation processes and the innovation cycle,
  • applying new knowledge to novel situations,
  • engaging in creating positive change through community engagement, and
  • increasing confidence, independence and capacity for complex problem-solving.

The SRSP is organized around advancing progress on five goals and associated strategies:

Goal 1: Our Students. Provide Mount Royal students with undergraduate research opportunities.

Goal 2: Our Researchers and Scholars. Enhance support for research and scholarship.

Goal 3: Our Research Infrastructure. Enhance the space, facilities and access for research and scholarship infrastructure.

Goal 4: Telling our Stories - Celebrating our Successes. Increase dissemination and communication of research and scholarship.

Goal 5: Working Together. Increase opportunities for collaboration.


Committees

Terms of Reference
  1. Review annually the Institution's Strategic Research Plan and provide advice on its contents, objectives, and orientation.
  2. Consider and review, as required, existing research-related policies and propose new ones, if necessary, and provide advice on their content, interpretation, and implementation.
  3. Provide a forum where new research, scholarly initiatives and ideas can be discussed and reviewed in an inter-disciplinary context.
  4. Provide, through its members, an internal communication mechanism built on the existing institutional structure to broadly communicate information concerning research, funding opportunities, institutional research initiatives, and the like.
  5. Establish, as required, sub-committees to address emerging issues as they relate to research, creative, and scholarly activities and develop proposals for addressing them.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Michael Quinn Chair, Vice-Provost & Associate Vice-President, Academic 403.440.7017 mquinn@mtroyal.ca
Karen Atkinson-Leadbeater Faculty of Arts 403.440.8442 katkinsonleadbeater@mtroyal.ca
Laura Balanko-Dickson Student Representative 403.440.6077
Meagan Bowler University Librarian 403.440.6086 mbowler@mtroyal.ca
Trevor Day Faculty of Science and Technology 403.440.5961 tday@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Ray De Paul Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship 403.440.8497 rdepaul@mtroyal.ca
Danah Duke Miistakis Institute 403.440.8444 dduke@mtroyal.ca
Leah Hamilton Faculty of Business and Communication Studies 403.440.8548 lhamilton@mtroyal.ca
Lynne Lafave Faculty of Health, Community and Education 403.440.5967 llafave@mtroyal.ca
Kathy Offet-Gartner Student Affairs and Campus Life 403.440.6362 koffetgartner@mtroyal.ca
David Ohreen Chair, Human Research Ethics Board 403.440.8645 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Jennifer Pettit Deans' Council Representative 403.440.5985 jpettit@mtroyal.ca
Margaux Samis Finance Designate (non-voting) 403.440.7044 msamis@mtroyal.ca
Sara Sharun University Library 403.440.6135 ssharun@mtroyal.ca
Erika Smith ADC and GNED 403.440.6568 eesmith@mtroyal.ca
Lena Soots Trico Changemakers Studio 403.440.5568 lsoots@mtroyal.ca
James Stauch Institute for Community Prosperity 403.440.7055 jstauch@mtroyal.ca
Julia Thiessen Marketing and Communications 403.440.6938 jthiessen1@mtroyal.ca
Meri Topchieva Student Representative 403.440.6077
Michael Uzoka GFC Member at Large 403.440.6674 fuzoka@mtroyal.ca
Connie Van Der Byl Institute for Environmental Sustainability 403.440.5030 cvanderbyl@mtroyal.ca
Michelle Yeo Institute for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning 403.440.6494 myeo@mtroyal.ca
VACANT Centre for Community Disaster Research 403.440.xxxx
Sheena Jensen Recording Secretary 403.440.6360 sjensen@mtroyal.ca
The Scholarship Review Committee (SRC) reviews all institution-wide internal grant applications, makes decisions on ranking, and provides recommendations on funding to the Director, Research. The SRC also acts as a team of topic-specialist reviewers that may be called upon by the Grants Facilitator, the Human Research Ethics Board, or individual faculty (through the Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement), to review specific portions of applications. Committee members may also be called upon to review specific types of external calls where the institution is the manager of the funds, such as through AACTI or SSHRC Institutional Grants.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Melissa Deane (Chair) Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement 403.440.5081 mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
Cathy Carter-Snell Health, Community and Education 403.440.6679 ccartersnell@mtroyal.ca
Peter Choate Health, Community and Education 403.440.5008 pchoate@mtroyal.ca
Trevor Day Science and Technology 403.440.5961 tday@mtroyal.ca
AnneMarie Dorland Bissett School of Business 403.440.6960 adorland@mtroyal.ca
Maryam Elahi Science and Technology 403.440.6935 melahi@mtroyal.ca
Jim Fischer Bissett School of Business 403.440.6835 jfischer@mtroyal.ca
Cass Foursha-Stevenson Arts 403.440.8829 cfourshastevenson@mtroyal.ca
Sarah Hewitt Science and Technology 403.440.8755 sahewitt@mtroyal.ca
Dorothy Hill Science and Technology 403.440.7796 dphill@mtroyal.ca
Brian Jackson Riddell Library and Learning Centre 403.440.5032 bjackson@mtroyal.ca
Shannon Kell Health, Community and Education 403.440.6493 skell@mtroyal.ca
Brian Nichols Arts 403.440.8402 bnichols@mtroyal.ca
Kenna Olsen Arts 403.440.5953 kolsen@mtroyal.ca
Erika Smith Teaching and Learning 403.440.6568 eesmith@mtroyal.ca
Julia Johnson (Recorder)

Office of Research, Scholarship and
Community Engagement

403.440.6069 jljohnson@mtroyal.ca

The Human Research Ethics Board (HREB) is responsible for ensuring that research applications meet the Tri-Council Policy Statement (TCPS2) involving participants, their rights and well-being. Learn more about HREB.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
David Ohreen (HREB Chair) General Education 403.440.8645 dohreen@mtroyal.ca
Deb Bennett (HREB Vice-Chair, and Chair for SHREC and Psychology Student Research Ethics Committee)


General Education

403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
David Cann Psychology 403.440.8541 dcann@mtroyal.ca
Luc Carels Student Representative vpexternal@mtroyal.ca
Trevor Day Biology 403.440.5961 tday@mtroyal.ca
Karim Dharamsi Ethicist, GenEd 403.440.8658 kdharamsi@mtroyal.ca
Mohamed El-Hussein Nursing and Midwifery 403.440.8633 melhussein@mtroyal.ca
Cynthia Gallop GenEd/CSSW 403.440.6985 cgallop@mtroyal.ca
Scott Hughes Education 403.440.6342 shughes@mtroyal.ca
Brian Jackson Library (Data Mgmt. Specialist) 403.440.5032 bjackson@mtroyal.ca
Ran Ju Public Relations 403.440.8689 rju@mtroyal.ca
Roberta Lexier GenEd 403.440.8487 rlexier@mtroyal.ca
Karen Manarin English, Languages, and Cultures 403.440.7719 kmanarin@mtroyal.ca
Matthew McLarnon Gen. Mgmt. and HR 403.440.6991 mmclarnon@mtroyal.ca
Jill Parnell Health and Physical Education 403.440.8672 jparnell@mtroyal.ca
Karen Pheasant-Neganigwane GenEd 403.440.7260 kpheasantneganigwane@mtroyal.ca
Harris Rubin Gen. Mgmt. and HR 403.440.6658 hrubin@mtroyal.ca
Rachel Syme Community Member, CIHR Canadian Institutes of Health Research, University of Calgary
David Turner Community Member - AHS
Paul Varella General Management 403.440.5099 pvarella@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca
Ad Hoc Advisors
Name Department Phone Email
Stacey Page, Chair, CHREB University of Calgary Conjoint Health Research Ethics Board (CHREB)
VACANT Campus Equity & Meaningful Inclusion 403.440.xxxx @mtroyal.ca
The Student Human Research Ethics Committee (SHREC) is a subcommittee of HREB that reviews course-based work that comprises of the use of human participants in minimal risk studies. Principal Investigators (course instructions) play the role of overseeing all projects within their courses and are responsible for all projects' ethical consideration if the course involves multiple sections.
Members
Name Department Phone Email
Deb Bennett (Chair) General Education 403.440.8892 dbennett@mtroyal.ca
Harpreet Aulakh Economics, Justice, and Policy Studies 403.440.5907 haulakh@mtroyal.ca
Abdul Chikhouni Bissett School of Business 403.440.6707 achikhouni@mtroyal.ca
Marty Clark Health and Physical Education 403.440.6511 mclark2@mtroyal.ca
Shannon Kell Health and Physical Education 403.440.6493 skell@mtroyal.ca
Rachael Pettigrew Bissett School of Business 403.440.6846 rpettigrew@mtroyal.ca
Fredrick Ulmer Sociology and Anthropology 403.440.6450 fulmer@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Research Compliance Officer 403.440.8470 hreb@mtroyal.ca
The Animal Care Committee (ACC) supports animal-based research in accordance with the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC) guidelines and policies. This committee ensures all research activities are humane and well-founded to meet the level of standards that should be provided to all participants. Learn more about the ACC.
Members
Name Department Term Phone & Office Email
Jonathan Mee (Chair) Biology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.5150

 

jmee@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Deane Director, Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ex officio

Phone: 403.440.5081

 

mdeane1@mtroyal.ca
Karen Atkinson-Leadbeater Psychology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8442

 

katkinsonleadbeater@mtroyal.ca
Melissa Cruz Biology

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.5540

 

mcruz@mtroyal.ca
Carrie Fischer

Community Member, Consulting Veterinarian

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Jared Fletcher Health, Community & Education

2019/23 (4 years)

Term end: June 2023

Phone: 403.440.5514

 

jfletcher@mtroyal.ca
Nathan Lawley SAMRU Representative, Vice-President, Academic

2019/23 (4 years)

Term end: June 2023

Phone: 403.440.6402 vpacademic@samru.ca
Heather Nelson General Education

2019/23 (4 years)

Term end: June 2023

Phone: 403.440.8716


hnelson@mtroyal.ca
Michelle Priest Community Member

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Melanie Rathburn General Education

2016/20 (4 years)

Term end: June 2020

Phone: 403.440.8636

 

mrathburn@mtroyal.ca
Priscilla Wamucii Office of Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement Ongoing

Phone: 403.440.8470

 

pwamucii@mtroyal.ca
Spencer Wishart Community Member

2017/21 (4 years)

Term end: June 2021


For more information about research and scholarship governance, please contact Associate Vice-President, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement, Michael Quinn, at 403.440.7017 or mquinn@mtroyal.ca.