About Us

 

Our teams

The staff and faculty of the ADC are organized into several collaborative teams. Learn more about each of our teams by clicking the links below.

 

Administration team

The Administration team is comprised of the Academic Director, the Manager of Learning Technologies, and two administrative assistants, who provide a range of clerical, secretarial, creative, and organizational support to the ADC Academic Director, Manager, and all ADC faculty and staff teams.

image placeholder

Christian Cook, PhD
Academic Director
clcook1@mtroyal.ca
403-440-8432

Amanda Veinotte, BAC
Manager, Learning Technologies
aveinotte@mtroyal.ca
403.440.7253

Mary-Ann Ciupak
Admin Assistant to the
Academic Director

mciupak@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6449

Nancy Funke, BDes
Administrative Assistant
nfunke@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6042

 

Academic media group (AMG)

AMG is a team of professional producer/directors providing support and expertise in video, audio, and multimedia production for the faculty and staff at Mount Royal University.

AMG provides the computers, hardware, and software to facilitate video and audio media editing. Our facility is available to faculty or staff for university purposes only. Services must be booked in advance.

Ian Borg
Team Lead
iborg@mtroyal.ca
403.440.8554

Vacant
Producer/Director

 

Faculty development team

Faculty development in the ADC is guided by the belief that we do not learn from our experiences but rather we learn from reflecting on our experiences. Teaching development is supported through programs and services carefully constructed to allow participants to reflect on their teaching.

The goals of the faculty development team are to:

  • provide in-depth opportunities for faculty to learn in community
  • provide individual consultation and support to meet faculty needs
  • create contexts in which faculty can engage in cross-disciplinary dialogue
  • provide support to faculty to appropriately employ electronic technologies to enhance teaching and learning.
  • provide support and facilitation for faculty and departments to evaluate, design, and re-design courses and programs

To learn more about specific programs and services offered by the faculty development team, please follow the links in the main navigation.

 

Book a consultation

Andrea Phillipson, PhD
Faculty Development Consultant
aphillipson@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6228

Eileen Clearsky

Eileen Clearsky, MEd, PhD Candidate
Assistant Professor and Faculty Development Consultant, Indigenization
eclearsky@mtroyal.ca
403.440.88788

Erika Smith, PhD
Faculty Development Consultant
eesmith@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6568

On sabbatical until July 2022

 

 

Book a consultation

Jennifer Boman, PhD
Faculty Development Consultant
jboman@mtroyal.ca
403.440.8743

 

 

Book a consultation

Luciano da Rosa, PhD
Faculty Development Consultant
ldarosa@mtroyal.ca
403.440.5059

 

Learning technologies group

This responsive and service-oriented team works with faculty and instructional staff to support the integration of technology into the MRU teaching context. Members of the team work collaboratively to deliver the following core services and supports:

  • Drop-in technology support for faculty
  • Stewardship the institutional Learning Management System in liaison with members of the IT Services department
  • Creation of online and blended courses for credit delivery, in collaboration with faculty subject matter experts
  • Support to Teaching Learning Enhancement Grant (TLEG) recipients particularly with the design and creation of interactive learning content
  • Support for technology enhanced spaces in the ADC
  • Collaboration with ITS on effective design for classroom technology
  • Consultation with faculty regarding the use of technology in the classroom and online teaching

In addition, members of the team are responsible for the creation of strategic communications materials including the department website, the annual Year in Review document, and marketing materials for events like Celebrate! Teaching and Learning at MRU.

Andrew Goodmanson, BIS
Educational Technology
Support Analyst

agoodmanson@mtroyal.ca

 

Andrew Reil, MS
Educational Technologist
areil@mtroyal.ca
403.440.7002

 

Bree Smith
Media Trainer & Communications Lead
bssmith@mtroyal.ca
403.440.7726

Vacant
Instructional Design Consultant

 

 

 

John Cheeseman, MEd
Educational Technologist
jcheeseman@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6956

 

Khethwen Woo, BFA
Graphic Designer/Web Developer
kwoo@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6044

Pattie Mascaro, MA
Instructional Design Consultant
pmascaro@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6723

Mokakiiks Centre for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning

Collette Lemieux, PhD
Assistant Professor and Interim Director of Mokakiiks Centre for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
clemieux@mtroyal.ca

Book a consultation

Cherie Woolmer, PhD
Assistant Professor and Canada Research Chair (SoTL)
cwoolmer@mtroyal.ca
403.440.8940

Michelle Yeo, PhD
Director, Mokakiiks Centre for Scholarship of Teaching and Learning
myeo@mtroyal.ca
403.440.6494

On sabbatical until July 2022