William Goodway

Position: Sessional Lecturer
Office: Off-Campus
Hours: TBD
Phone: NA
Email: wgoodway@mtroyal.ca


Bill Goodway obtained a B.Sc. in Geology from University of London and a M.Sc. in Geophysics from University of Calgary. He began his career working for various seismic contractors in the United Kingdom and Canada. Then in 1985 he joined the geophysics department at PanCanadian Petroleum where he worked in various capacities from geophysicist to being the Team Lead of a Seismic Analysis Group.

Following the PanCanadian and AEC merger to form EnCana in 2002, Bill continued in the Frontier and New Ventures Group and finally in Canadian Gas Shales, as Advisor for Seismic Analysis.

Bill retired from EnCana in 2010 to join Apache Corporation as Manager Geophysics-Advisor Senior Staff.
In these positions Bill was involved in virtually all aspects of applied seismic exploration from acquisition design processing, to experimental special projects and new quantitative interpretation (QI) AVO methods.

In 2016 Bill retired from Apache and is currently Scientific Advisor for Quantitative Interpretation and AVO technology at Qeye Labs, a course instructor for QI/AVO for RPS/Nautilus and a part-time sessional instructor in Geophysics at Mount Royal University in Calgary.
Bill has presented and co-authored a number of papers at CSEG, EAGE and SEG conventions on seismic acquisition and processing, borehole geophysics, anisotropy, multicomponent recording and QI/AVO. 

He received four CSEG annual Best Paper Awards between 1994 and 1997, was awarded the CSEG Medal in 2008 and in 2009 was selected as the SEG’s Honorary Lecturer for North America.

The CSEG recognized Bill for his work as the honouree for the 2nd CSEG symposium and in 2016 he was presented with the Reginald Fessenden Award by the SEG for his development and promotion of lambda-rho-mu inversion technology that has become a valuable exploration tool resulting in documented cases of improved drilling success.

He is a member of the CSEG, SEG and APEGA as well as a past SEG Research Committee member and TLE editorial board. In addition, Bill was elected President of the CSEG for the 2002/2003 term.