• Header image

Distinguished Faculty Awards

  |  Criteria  |  Application  |  Nomination  |  Current recipients
 |  Past recipients


Distinguished Faculty Awards celebrate outstanding performance by faculty in all aspects of their role and the ongoing enhancement of their teaching and/or scholarship. Recipients of this prestigious award demonstrate excellence in scholarly teaching, leadership in service and significant accomplishments in scholarship.

Distinguished Faculty Awards have two award categories:

  • Excellence in Scholarly Teaching, Service and Scholarship Award
  • Excellence in Scholarly Teaching Award

Up to two awards may be granted in each category, each year.

Recipients of the Distinguished Faculty Awards in both categories receive a cash honorarium of $1,000, a letter acknowledging the award signed by the Provost and Vice-President, Academic, and a framed certificate. Recipients of the Excellence in Scholarly Teaching, Service and Scholarship Award also receive a $4,000 grant to support their work in teaching and/or scholarship.

Distinguished Faculty Award recipients are also recognized on Mount Royal's Faculty Excellence Awards website and at the Faculty Excellence Celebration in May. Award recipients may also be recognized through other channels.

2024 Distinguished Faculty Award recipient


Dr. Rachael Pettigrew

Dr. Rachael Pettigrew

Associate Professor
Department of General Management and Human Resources
Faculty of Business and Communication Studies

Dr. Rachael Pettigrew is Chair and Associate Professor in the Department of General Management and Human Resources. She joined Mount Royal in 2015.

In her two decades as a student-centred instructor, Rachael Pettigrew has crafted a multidisciplinary background that combines management, sociology, and family social sciences to explore issues related to gender in the workplace, inclusive organizational cultures, and legislated and employer policies.

In support of her nomination, one of her colleagues stated, “Rachael continually embraces new challenges to enhance the University's environment through service. Her ability to translate ideas into action and mobilize teams underscores her commitment to fostering positive change within our academic community.”

Rachael’s service engagements range from serving on the board for the Mount Royal Early Learning Centre, running International Women's Day conferences, previously serving on the Joint Equity Diversity and Inclusion Committee, and most recently working with a team partnered with Old Sun Community College and Siksika First Nation to develop the Indigenous Business and Economic Development BBA Concentration.

Rachael’s recent SSHRC-funded research focused on gender-diverse boards and individuals' experiences, aspirations and barriers faced on the path to board work. Recent projects have explored work-life issues including fathers' parental leave use and employer adaptation to the new extended parental leave legislation, and an international collaboration comparing members of the 2SLGBTQIA+ community’s access to parental leave in six countries.

Her secondary research stream explores newcomer employment. Recent projects have explored the treatment of seasonal agricultural workers during the COVID-19 pandemic, and she has a grant application under review for an exploration of newcomer women’s experiences as providers and accessors of childcare.

As the Chair of the Department of General Management and Human Resources in the Faculty of Business and Communications Studies, Rachael uses her education, experience, and research to better understand the University, curriculum, program design and administration from a variety of perspectives on these important issues.

Altogether, Rachael’s outstanding work has truly had a lasting impact on the Mount Royal community and far beyond.

2024 Awards Adjudication Committee

Member Title
Dr. Karim Dharamsi Vice-Provost Academic (Chair)
Dr. Connie Van der Byl Associate Vice-President, Research, Scholarship and Community Engagement
Dr. Samanti Kulatilake Associate Professor, Anthropology
Dr. Adam Cave Vice-Dean, Academic, Faculty of Business and Communication Studies
Dr. Gaye Warthe Vice-Dean, Faculty of Health, Community and Education
Dr. Melanie Rathburn Vice-Dean, Faculty of Science and Technology
Cari Merkley Associate Professor & Librarian, University Library
Paul Jessop Contract Faculty, Health and Physical Education, Faculty of Health, Community and Education
Joseph Nguyen President, Students' Association of Mount Royal University (SAMRU)
Tala Abu Hayyaneh Vice-President Academic, Students' Association of Mount Royal University (SAMRU)

Award requirements



Return to Faculty Excellence Awards

The Faculty Excellence Awards are administered through Academic Affairs, as part of Mount Royal’s Celebrate U framework for employee rewards and recognition.