JOHSC

Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee

The Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee (JOHSC) is an advisory committee to the President's Executive Committee (PEC).

Mandated by Alberta Occupational Health & Safety legislation, the JOHSC brings together representatives from all levels of the University to discuss and address health and safety-related concerns at MRU. The JOHSC allows workers to participate in occupational health and safety and supports their three basic rights: 

  • The right to know
  • The right to participate
  • The right to refuse dangerous work

Concerns may be brought directly to a member of the JOHSC or communicated to EH&S to pass along: EHS@mtroyal.ca. Additional information on the MRU JOHSC can be found in the Terms of Reference.

The Government of Alberta provides a summary of the requirements and responsibilities of worksite health and safety committees on their website and through a 30-minute webinar.

 

 

Member Committee Role University Role Email Phone
Rachelle McGrath Co-Chair Director, Wellness Services rmcgrath@mtroyal.ca 403.440.5619
Crystal Koch Co-Chair Office of Institutional Research and Planning ckoch@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6396
Robert Siklodi EH&S Resource Manager, EH&S rsiklodi@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6180
Scharie Tavcer Member Associate Professor, Dept of Economics, Justice and Policy Studies stavcer@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6383
Mark Friesen Member Manager, Labour Relations mfriesen@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6033
Stephanie Zettel Member Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Health, Community & Education szettel@mtroyal.ca 403.440.8653
Joe Frazao Member Architectural Supervisor, Facilities Management afrazao@mtroyal.ca  403.899.5678
Dave McLean Member Director, Marketing dmclean@mtroyal.ca  403.440.5538
Amy McCarthy Member Administrative Assistant, Faculty of  Science and Technology amccarthy@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6149
Helena Myllykoski Member Instructor, Bissett School of Business hmyllykoski@mtroyal.ca  403.440.8654

 

Meeting Minutes: