JOHSC

Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee

The Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee (JOHSC) is an advisory committee to the President's Executive Committee (PEC).

Mandated by Alberta Occupational Health & Safety legislation, the JOHSC brings together representatives from all levels of the University to discuss and address health and safety-related concerns at MRU. The JOHSC allows workers to participate in occupational health and safety and supports their three basic rights: 

  • The right to know
  • The right to participate
  • The right to refuse dangerous work

Concerns may be brought directly to a member of the JOHSC or communicated to EH&S to pass along: EHS@mtroyal.ca. Additional information on the MRU JOHSC can be found in the Terms of Reference.

The Government of Alberta provides a summary of the requirements and responsibilities of worksite health and safety committees on their website and through a 30-minute webinar.

Member Committee Role University Role Email Phone
Peter Davison Co-Chair Director, Security Services pgdavison@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6899
Milena Radzikowska Co-Chair Assoc. Professor, School of Communication Studies mradzikowska@mtroyal.ca 403.440.8941
Robert Siklodi EH&S Resource Manager, EH&S rsiklodi@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6180
Schweta Chugh Member MRSA Representative schugh@mtroyal.ca 403.440.5046
Trika MacDonald Member Assoc. VP, Human Resources tmmacdonald@mtroyal.ca 403.440.5132
Mark Friesen Member Manager, Labour Relations mfriesen@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6033
Stephanie Zettel Member Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Health, Community & Education szettel@mtroyal.ca 403.440.8653
Sean Williams Member Mechanical Worker, Facilities Management swilliams3@mtroyal.ca 403.440.6417

 

Meeting Minutes: