Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee

The Joint Occupational Health & Safety Committee (JOHSC) is an advisory committee to the President's Executive Committee (PEC).

Mandated by Alberta Occupational Health & Safety legislation, the JOHSC brings together representatives from all levels of the University to discuss and address health and safety-related concerns at MRU. The JOHSC allows workers to participate in occupational health and safety and supports their three basic rights: 

  • The right to know
  • The right to participate
  • The right to refuse dangerous work

Concerns may be brought directly to a member of the JOHSC or communicated to EH&S to pass along: Additional information on the MRU JOHSC can be found in the Terms of Reference.

The Government of Alberta provides a summary of the requirements and responsibilities of worksite health and safety committees on their website and through a 30-minute webinar.

Member Committee Role University Role Email Phone
Peter Davison Co-Chair Director, Security Services 403.440.6899
Milena Radzikowska Co-Chair Assoc. Professor, School of Communication Studies 403.440.8941
Robert Siklodi EH&S Resource Manager, EH&S 403.440.6180
Schweta Chugh Member MRSA Representative 403.440.5046
Trika MacDonald Member Assoc. VP, Human Resources 403.440.5132
Mark Friesen Member Manager, Labour Relations 403.440.6033
Stephanie Zettel Member Assoc. Professor, Faculty of Health, Community & Education 403.440.8653
Sean Williams Member Mechanical Worker, Facilities Management 403.440.6417


Meeting Minutes: