David Legg PhD, appointed to International Paralypic Committee - Sport Science Standing Committee

David Legg - FP BioMount Royal University - Faculty of Health and Community Studies' David Legg, a full professor in the Department of Physical Education and Recreation studies, has been elected to sit on the International Paralympic Committees (IPC) - Sport Science Standing Committee following approval from the IPC Governing Board at its June meeting in Bonn, Germany.

The representatives come from 21 different countries, representing all five continents.

The appointments are as follows:

Anti-Doping Committee

Chairperson: José Antonio (Toni) Pascual (Spain)

- Joseph de Pencier (Canada)
- Nicki Vance (Australia)
- George Tsamis (Greece)
- Katarzyna Rogowiec (Poland)
- Chin Sim Teoh (Singapore)
- Kyu-Hwan Lee (Korea)
- Matthew Fedoruk (USA)

Audit and Finance Committee

Chairperson: Miguel Sagarra (Spain)

- Gadiel Blusztein (Israel)
- Hilda Gibson (Great Britain/World Archery)
- Christo Kok (The Netherlands/ITF)
- Mohan Menon (Singapore)
- Michael Rosenbaum (Germany)

Classification Committee

Chairperson: Anne Hart (USA)

- Jürgen Schwittai (Germany/IFDS)
- Francesca Porcellato (Italy)
- Scott Field (South Africa)
- Sean Tweedy (Australia)
- Graham Arthur (Great Britain)

Legal and Ethics Committee

Chairperson: Linda Mastandrea (USA)

- Carla Qualtrough (Canada)
- Winnet Kanyerere (Zimbabwe)
- Mark Copeland (New Zealand)
- Sora Noh (Korea)
- Position vacant

IPC Medical Committee

Chairperson: Cheri Blauwet (USA)

- Jaap Stomphorst (The Netherlands)
- Wayne Derman (South Africa)
- Nick Webborn (Great Britain)
- James Kissick (Canada)
- Jan Lexell (Sweden)
- Yetsa Tuakli-Wosornu (Ghana)
- Guzel Idrisova (Russia)

IPC Sports Science Committee

Chairperson: Yves Vanlandewijck (Belgium)

- Walter Thompson (USA, nominated by INAS)
- Osnat Fliess-Douer (Israel)
- David Legg (Canada)
- Raymond So (Hong Kong, China)
- Position vacant

For a summary of what each IPC Standing Committee is responsible for, please visit: