General Faculties Council

General Faculties Council

The General Faculties Council (GFC) is established in accordance with the Post-Secondary Learning Act (PSLA). 

Officers of GFC

Officer Name Title
Chair Tim Rahilly President and Vice-Chancellor
Vice-Chair Chad London Provost and Vice-President, Academic 
Secretary Amy Nixon General Counsel and University Secretary
Recording Secretary Sheena Dyer Assistant University Secretary, GFC


GFC Briefing Note Template

GFC Orientation Information 2023-24

Meeting Highlights

At the September 11, 2020 General Faculties Council open session meeting, the following motion was approved:

THAT Mount Royal University acknowledges the genocide done to Indigenous peoples by colonization and the trauma inflicted by the residential school system, and supports the ongoing work of reconciliation, including the objectives set out in the report of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada. This acknowledgement brings a responsibility to provide a culturally-safe learning and work environment in accordance with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission's findings and MRU's Indigenous Strategic Plan. MRU is committed to strengthening our commitment to decolonization, as stated in the five goals of our Indigenous Strategic Plan. We will: 1) Cultivate respectful and welcoming environments that prevail over the legacy of colonization; 2) Foster respect for Indigenous ways of knowing and knowledge production to increase capacity for Indigenous scholarship; 3) Build strong connections by forging mutually supportive and productive partnerships with all stakeholders in Indigenous education; 4) Work with our communities to enhance the academic, personal and cultural experience of Indigenous learners; 5) Promote culturally responsible and respectful curricula that integrates Indigenous pedagogies and ways of knowing.