Mount Royal University is seeking its next Chancellor

Dawn Farrell's term as MRU's first Chancellor will come to an end in 2024, which means the search for our next Chancellor is underway.

The Chancellor is the ceremonial head of the University and brings the public (external) perspective to the University.  An advisor and support to the President, the Chancellor is a public proponent of the University and is an active participant in its activities and community.  In particular, the Chancellor presides over Convocation and confers degrees to all graduates.

The Chancellor represents the University at key community and ceremonial occasions and is an ex-officio member of the University’s Board of Governors.  We are seeking nominees who are distinguished in their field, have a strong connection to the Calgary and Alberta communities, and will support and promote the University’s strategic direction.


About the Chancellor role

Term of Appointment

The Chancellor serves for one four-year term in accordance with the Post-secondary Learning Act of Alberta. The Chancellor position is a non-remunerated, volunteer position.  Travel expenses are reimbursed.

Criteria for Appointment

The Chancellor is a distinguished person whose service, contributions, reputation, and record of excellence in their chosen field is one that contributes to the mission, vision, and values of Mount Royal University.

The Chancellor role requires a high level of ease and comfort with ceremony and public speaking.

Nominees must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents, possess a strong interest and commitment to university-community affairs and education, and have significant time to apply to the considerable duties involved. 

Mount Royal University selects on the basis of merit and is committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion as well as a commitment to truth and reconciliation. 

All qualified persons are encouraged to apply. 

Nomination process

Nomination and Appointment Process

In accordance with the Alberta Post-secondary Learning Act, the Chancellor is elected by the Board of Governors on the nomination by the Chancellor Search Committee.

Personal information of Nominees and Nominators will be managed and protected in accordance with the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.  Documentation and personal information received by the Committee during its deliberations will be treated as confidential and will only be used or disclosed for the purpose for which the information was collected.

Confidential nominations will be accepted commencing October 13, 2023.

The review of nominations begins in November 2023. Nominations will remain open until the position is filled.

Mount Royal University selects on the basis of merit and is committed to equity, diversity, and inclusion as well as a commitment to truth and reconciliation. 
All qualified persons are encouraged to apply. 

Ready to nominate? Complete the following steps

Step #1

Notify the person you want to nominate and share the profile and description of the Chancellor role

Step #2

Download the nominee consent form and send it to the person you will nominate. Their consent is required in order to consider the application

Step #3

Download and complete the Chancellor nomination form and submit it by email or send a hard copy to the address below


Email Submissions


Subject line:  Confidential Chancellor Nomination


Mail Submission

The Office of the General Counsel and University Secretariat

Mount Royal University

4825 Mount Royal Gate SW

Calgary, AB   T3E 6K6

Chancellor Search Committee

In accordance with the Post-secondary Learning Act, the Chancellor Search Committee is comprised of:

  • Tim Rahilly, President and Vice-Chancellor; Chancellor Search Committee Chair
  • Chris Lee, Board of Governors
  • Shannon Ryhorchuk, Board of Governors
  • Rob Schaefer, Board of Governors
  • Christian Cook, General Faculties Council
  • Lavinia Moldovan, General Faculties Council
  • Dustin Paisley, Alumni Association
  • Shannon Pestun, Alumni Association
  • Jonathan Reimche, Alumni Association
  • Joseph Nguyen, Students’ Association
  • Anisa Tilston, Students’ Association
  • Amy Nixon, General Counsel and University Secretary (non-voting)
  • Andrea Hennel, Chief of Staff (non-voting)
  • Kathy Homer, Assistant University Secretary, Recording Secretary (non-voting)



Please contact the General Counsel and University Secretary, Amy Nixon at