We are thrilled to announce that three graduates of Mount Royal University's Bachelor of Education - Elementary class of 2021 were nominated for the Edwin Parr Teacher Awards. 

Edwin Parr served as President of the Alberta School Trustees’ Association (now ASBA) from 1956 to 1962. His long career in educational affairs included terms as a member of the board with the George Lake School District and as Board Chair of the Athabasca School Division. Parr also served on the council of the County of Athabasca from its formation in1959 until his death in1963 (2022). 

Each year school boards can nominate a first-year teacher who meets the criteria. In 2022 Ms. Anna Moriarity (Golden Hills School Division), Ms. Cassandra Bollinger (Rocky View Schools) and Ms. Maya Savi (Calgary Catholic School District) were nominated.

Anna, Cassandra and Maya are models for how to integrate the Teaching Quality Standards competencies into their classrooms. 


Anna Moriarity, Cassandra Bollinger and Maya Savi 


Alberta School Boards Association. (2022). Edwin Parr Teacher Award. Retrieved from